It Was More Than Just A Crucifixion

The story of Christ’s crucifixion is one that moves us all to contemplation when we hear it preached. By all right, we should be moved to reflection of the most important event known to mankind.  Our God, left his heavenly kingdom and wrapped himself in humanly flesh, for us. He came to give himself up as payment against his law, for our sins that we committed. A payment that his law demanded. He set the boundaries that we trespassed, and because of his infinite love, He took our place on the cross.

We see the symbols of the crucifixion everywhere. A cross around some one’s neck or on a bible, but most of all we see it in and on our churches. Quite often we see a display of three crosses on a hill as a symbol in remembrance of that infamous day. These displays remind us of why he died for us and, the gift He gave that day.

I was driving by one such display and my thoughts were suddenly filled with a picture of Jesus on the cross. I saw him hanging on that tree in all of his agony. I could see the dirt and blood covering his body. The crown of thorns dripping blood from his head. His arms and legs sagging in exhaustion, his chin resting on his chest as he struggles to breath. The backdrop was one of a baron hilltop framed in dark skies and clouds. It was as if the earth itself were in pain.

As my mind soaked up this scene, my emotions were struck with an overwhelming emotion of love for Him. I couldn’t help but say, “God, I love you”, as my heart melted within me. But, through this, my thoughts were brought to something we tend to overlook.

Hebrews 4:15 says, “For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.”

We forget that He not only felt abandoned and alone, but he felt a cold unlike any other he had ever experienced. Already shivering from blood loss and shock, without the sun the wind chilled him to his core. But, he still held the love for us that brought our salvation.

When all hope seems gone, don’t give up. God has been there before and, He knows.  When it feels like you’ve no more strength to walk, take one more step. When you feel so alone that no one could possibly understand. Look up child, for God has already blazed that path before you. There will be an end and He will be your strength. Don’t give up, for God understands the cold.

About The Master's Crumbs

I am a happily married Apostolic man that loves to write. I love God, my wife, my family, and my writing. I look for a God inspiration in everything. I believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross at Calvary for of our sins. We have a hope in Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment